Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Downriggers Jul 27, 2015 8:45 pm #2609

• Crooked Eye
  • Crooked Eye's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 4
I am wanting to run two lines off each rigger. I have two big jon electrics with blacks releases. I have both types one is made on a leader and the others are singles. What is the best way to stack these? Also, do you run both lines with flashers? I run mono on all rods currently. Any help is appreciated, this is new to me stacking lines.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Downriggers Jul 27, 2015 9:10 pm #2611

• Dirty
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 1679
For my riggers, I use chamberlain releases. I have no experience with blacks releases. With chamberlains you can get a stacker release as well and pop it on the cable anywhere you want. This requires 2 rods per rigger to stack and works like a champ. I will separate the stacker from the ball release by about 20' to start. I have 2 riggers so I will seperate them by 10' initially. This gives me coverage of 40' of water column. Higher baits should have a short lead (helps prevent potential tangles). So the port rigger might have baits at 80 & 60 while the starboard rigger at 70 & 50.

I am sure alot of guys have their methods and will chime in, this just happens to be what I do - for better or for worse ;)
Boatless!

Downriggers Jul 28, 2015 8:53 pm #2618

• Crooked Eye
Thanks, I looked the chamberlain release up and it is definitely user friendly. I ordered two stackers today!

Downriggers Jul 28, 2015 9:14 pm #2619

• Steelie Don
  • Travel Ambasador
  • Travel Ambasador
  • Thank you received: 509
Did you ever try to use a fixed or free slider on a single rod to get extra hooks in the water and cover more of the water column? I started using them and they work well also. Just another weapon to unleash on them when the fish are looking the other way.