Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Skamania-so many questions May 29, 2019 6:05 am #24120

• Ronaldok1
  • Ronaldok1's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 22
this is my first year fishing the south end of the lake so i have a lot to learn.
are they caught primarily in the river?
can i use my kayak in the river? not into combat fishing from shore.
troll or slip bobber?
do they stage in the big water?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Skamania-so many questions May 29, 2019 6:29 am #24121

• MCYaker
  • Thank you received: 26
I have fished from the pier at Michigan City many times and have caught them from both sides using shrimp and slip bobber (8"-10" deep), Oslo and Mepps spinners, Hot n Tots and Wiggle Warts, it always seemed that whatever I was using worked but I always used bait on one rod and artificial on the other. I have also caught a lot of steelhead on the ST Joe between Central Park and Twin Branch at Mishawaka. The last few years have been the best fishing there in 20 years, with near record numbers coming up the ladders. Twin Branch is also the closest to you and that stretch is very kayak friendly. This year I will be fishing Michigan City and the St Joe from my kayak. There was a report of steelhead being caught at Michigan City Sunday on shrimp. I usually don't go until the end of June but the way this year has been I think I'll start early and stay late. If the weather permits I my try Michigan City Sunday.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Stag, Ronaldok1

Skamania-so many questions May 29, 2019 9:30 am #24122

• MC_angler
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 1272